Alright ya’ll, your prayers were definitely felt,  our home study went great!!!  It was so exciting to talk more in depth about our parenting goals, spiritual goals, birth mom relationship goals, and the dynamic of open adoption and all opportunities it brings, along with our “preferences”. We got the “Go ahead” to get our fingerprinting and physicals done.  The most important and exciting “Go ahead”… was to begin putting together our family profile book for potential birth mothers to look at!!  Talking more about birth mothers and their concerns, thought processes, and stories really challenged me. In a good way, but in a way that is kind of prickly on my heart. For example, remember in one of my early blog entries, when I wrote about this quote?

image

Well, it’s just so true. Hearing stories about birth mothers and what they face just makes my heart hurt. Today, I walked through the baby aisle at Walmart and for the first time, I felt a flutter in my heart. I spent a solid half hour looking at items and really letting myself feel like a momma to be for the very first time. I took a picture because I wanted to use it to thank all the folks who keep donating (some of you 3-4 times.) I want you guys to know how thankful I am for the opportunity to become a mom. I also feel like I need to ask you all for one more thing. Will you begin to pray for our birth mother and all birth mothers? Because not long ago, this aisle made my heart ache and when they walk through this aisle, I know it must do the same…
image

With love and grattitude,
Amber